Skip to content

The Well-Planned Day

July 30, 2009

In preparation for my first year of homeschooling I read Managers of Their Homes and  decided that a schedule is the way to go.  I am NOT a schedule person BUT I will need to adequately homeschool AlphaBoy and also, well, I’ll spare you my “also” list – I know your is just as long.

So a schedule then.  Okay.  Last night I scheduled my day from 6 AM to 10:45 PM.  Today was the test run.

Best Laid Plans

A Well-Planned Day

6:00 – 7:00 AM Wake up, daily Bible reading and meditation (“Daily” is definitely a goal, not a reality at this point.)

7:00 – 7:30 Make, eat, clear breakfast

7:30 – 8:00 Empty dishwasher, make bed, load the clothes washer, dress, put on make up

8:00 – 8:30 Dress boys, have a bit of free time

8:30 – WAIT A MINUTE!  Here I stopped to assess the situation:  Everyone dressed, everyone fed, house neat, diaper bag packed.

And it was only 8:30!I chucked the rest of the schedule, hopped in the car (with the boys) and drove to the zoo for the morning.  Definitely not on the schedule, but we had a great time!

Plan B

Plan B - Maybe tomorrow I'll make it past 8:30.

No comments yet

Leave a comment