Skip to content

Catching Up

September 3, 2010

WHEW!!!!  The first week of First Grade (and Preschool) is almost over.  The Fall semester of Kindermusik has launched successfully.  Our days haven’t fallen into a rhythm yet, but at least I sense a steady beat.

A lot has happened in the last week or so.  Here are some blurbs.

Another Outdoor Science Experience

After those long, super rainy days last week, we finally made it outside to a park with some friends.  I explained patiently and laboriously to Shane why gloves are an inappropriate choice of park attire on an end-of-August, Florida afternoon.  He patiently and laboriously insisted that you never know when a pair of gloves will come in handy.  Two frogs later, I had to agree.

Shane examines his find

Frogs and friends. Does it get any better?

The frog survived! It's the very tiny speck in the bottom center.

Here’s another confession.  Sometimes…when the germs are just grossing me out… and mud stains look more like a trip to the shoe store and 30 minutes of extra laundry than healthy boy fun…well, I pretend my boys belong to someone else and I’m just the babysitter.

Germs don’t bother babysitters.  At least not my babysitters.  And babysitters don’t do the laundry.  So they enjoy the moment and let boys be boys.  Dirt, germs, stink and all.  And when I come home they tell me, “WOW!  They had fun at the park today!”  and Shane and Eric say, “YEP!  We sure did!”

First Day of School

As I said in my last post, I hadn’t planned on starting this week.  But I’m so glad I did.  The routine has been a good thing.  Hands-down, the highlight of the first day was the First Day of First Grade Celebration at the DQ with our Five in a Row Gang.

First Day Celebration!

Second Day of School

Eric started Preschool.  I haven’t a clue how to teach him to read.  I picked up a copy of Hooked on Phonics, and today was  “Aa” Day.  We never knew “A” tasted so good.  Can’t wait for the “ch” blend.  That will be “chocolate” and we’ll spend a whole week on it.

"A- A- Applesauce"

Third Day of School: Practical Use of a Simple Machine

Yesterday I peeked out the back window, and this is what I saw.

This is a section of fence we didn't use when we put it up. It has been a fort, a picnic table, a bridge. This, however, was a first.

A better look at his set-up. Creative, don't you think? Gotta love the boots.

He was talking over the fence to the boy in back of us who, with parental permission, hopped over the fence and spent the next hour water fighting with Shane and Eric.  That, I’m both sorry and delighted to say, was our third day of school.

And Today:  4th Day of School

Did I ever mention that Shane is my kinesthetic learner?

Math Practice. He would do math on his head if he could still write the answers. Hmm. Something to try...

And other stuff

  • Painting the house this weekend.  I’ll take the boys to Ken’s mom’s house while Ken paints.  I’m getting the better end of that deal!
  • Starting to teach piano lessons from my home next Thursday.
  • MAJOR house cleaning scheduled for next Wednesday.
  • AWANAs and Cubbies started yesterday.
  • Soccer starts this Saturday.

We are busy and blessed.  Much going on, but it all seems to be working together for good.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 3, 2010 3:57 pm

    Looks like a wonderful, productive week! Can’t wait to see and hear about your next adventures.

Leave a Reply

