Skip to content

A New Year Begins

September 1, 2010

We started our homeschool year yesterday – Monday.

Here’s my confession:  I didn’t want to start.  I didn’t plan on it.  This is also the first week of a new Kindermusik semester, and I had planned to wait until next week to start homeschooling and focus on the semester launch this week.

Then I thought about what the continued lack of routine would likely do to my poor boys’ already TV gluttoned minds.  And I thought about how much (or rather, how little) work I would actually be able to get done with them in this glazed, but oh-so-active state.

In the end, it was a decision of practicality.  If I couldn’t get any work done whether or not I started school, then it made sense to me to start so at least I would have something to show for not getting my work done.  And ironically, I accomplished a lot more with calmer boys who had new stuff to think about than I would have otherwise.

It was a surprisingly good start to a year we’re looking forward to.  Thanks for sharing it with me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 2, 2010 12:05 am

    Hope you had a great 1st day! Can’t wait to hear all about it.

Leave a comment