Skip to content

A Still Small Voice

September 23, 2009

Ever want to do something SO BADLY?  Ever have a feeling you shouldn’t?  Ever do it, anyway?

Or did you heed the still, small voice?

Today I wanted SO BADLY to take Shane and Eric to story time.  I’d really looked forward to it, but hadn’t mentioned it to them.  Story time started at 10:30.  Just enough time to start school at 9:00, work for an hour, then take a break and go.  And then came the still small voice.

You shouldn’t go today.

What?  Why not?  I want to go!

You shouldn’t go today.

But we can finish in the afternoon.

You shouldn’t go today.

Okay, fine.  I’ll stay home.  But it doesn’t start until 10:30!  Surely I have time to…

You shouldn’t go today.


I heeded the voice and stayed home.  My phone rang at 10:27.  One of my Kindermusik teaching partners was scheduled to start her first Wednesday class of the semester in 3 minutes, and the home kits that she needed to give the children to complete the lesson and start off right were not there.  Through  mis-communication and my own oversight we had left the home kits at our Calvary Baptist location the day before.

Already dressed and all ready to go (I had REALLY wanted to go to that storytime!), I had just enough time to collect the kits and deliver them to her 8 minutes before her class ended.  WHEW!

Had I gone to the library I would have been helpless to help.

Ah, the still, small voice.

“12And after the earthquake a fire; but the LORD was not in the fire: and after the fire a still small voice. 13And … when Elijah heard it, … he … went out… 15And the LORD said unto him…” -Isaiah 19:12, 13, 15

“…your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, ”This is the way; walk in it.’ ”  -Isaiah 30:21

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

