Skip to content

First Day of School: Morning Quiet

September 1, 2009

Here it is – the first “First Day of School.”

Both boys are asleep on opposite ends of the couch, where they came to rest from their nightly wanderings.

They each have their own bed, but I never find them there in the morning.

They each have their own bed, but I never find them there in the morning.

Hubby is asleep, and I’ll wake him in a minute.  But for now, the house is mine, and I cherish the quiet to think about the day ahead.

My plans are written, the books and papers are stacked and ready, my schedule is set.  Now  I pray that God will show me which of my plans are just that:  my plans, and which of my plans are part of His Plan.

Today is the 31st, so my Bible reading is, ironically and and fittingly, the Proverbs 31 Woman, aka:  the Original SuperMom.  I know that many women jokingly roll their eyes at this seeming Figment Woman, this Myth, this Legend of Home Managing Lore.  (Proverbs 31:  10 – 31)

But there she is, smack in the middle of the Bible.  And my goodness!   How liberating to see that God sets up as an example a woman who is capable, smart, organized, economically independent and savvy, loved and respected by her husband and children as well as the people she does business with,  comfortable in her skin  and in control of her world.

Strength and dignity are her clothing,
And she smiles at the future.
She opens her mouth in wisdom
And the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.

Proverbs 31:25 – 26

How’s that for a description of a homeschooling mom?  Or any mom, for that matter?

Lord, when I open my mouth today, let my words be wise.  When I teach, may it be in kindness and compassion.  May I be strong and dignified, even when circumstances orchestrated by two mischievous little boys are beyond my control and decidedly undignified.

May I smile at the future and, when I get there, may I be able to turn around and smile at the past.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

